Computer Science – 9618

Cambridge International A –levels Computer Science is a full credit course. There are 4 papers of CS syllabus and an update is available from 2021. The key concepts of CS comprise: Computational Thinking, Programming Paradigms, Communications, Computer Architecture & Hardware and Data representation and structures. Paper 1 and 3 focus on Theory and paper 2 caters to Fundamental Problem-solving and Programming whereas, paper 4 is a practical based paper. The assessment objectives develop the skills of knowledge and understanding of the content, application of the concepts and designing and evaluation of programming.

In a nutshell, it facilitates the basics for the further study of Computer Science or similar courses later.

It has equivalent status to the general academic courses.


How is the subject taught at The City School?

First, we explain the theoretical fundamentals and theory of computer sciences. We dedicate time specifically for the questioning sessions for students which further clarifies their conceptual learning. This activity is followed by specific practical and empirical learning. This provides students with a chance to gain hands on experience with a deeper insights..

The goals of the course are to enable students to develop computational thinking skills such as algorithm design, problem-solving and an understanding of the interlinked system software and program development, data, hardware, communication and the constitutional parts of computer systems.

Importance of the Subject for Higher Studies and University Programmes

With exposure to the field of computer science taught at The City School, every year many students are provided with an opportunity to secure a place in different international universities. The teaching as well  practical and learning exercises have enabled students to be valued by top universities in UK, US, Europe, Australia and Canada.

The subject is being offered at

Central Region:

A Level Gulberg Campus, Bahawalpur Campus, Chenab Campus Faisalabad, DHA Campus, Gujranwala Campus, Multan Campus, Ravi Campus, Sargodha Campus, Sialkot Campus

Northern Region:

Capital Campus, Islamabad, E-11 Campus, Islamabad, Rawal Campus, Rawalpindi, Peshawar Campus


  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.